News & Insights

Monday, June 3, 2019

Tariffs To Be Imposed On All Mexican Goods In Attempt To Stem The Tide Of Undocumented Persons Crossing The Border Into The United States

On the evening of May 30, President Trump announced in a tweet that “. . . the United States will impose a 5% Tariff on all goods coming into our County from Mexico, Until such time as illegal migrants coming through Mexico, and into our Country, STOP.  The Tariff will gradually increase until the immigration problem is remedied.”

In a statement made following the tweet, the President announced that if Mexico does not act and the crisis persists, tariffs will be increased monthly according to the following schedule:

  • 5% on June 10
  • 10% on July 1
  • 15% on August 1
  • 20% on September 1
  • 25% on October 1.

The 25% tariff will remain in effect until Mexico substantially limits the flow of aliens going through its country to the United States.  The President is exercising his authority under the Emergency Economic Powers Act of 1977 so the tariffs may be implemented quickly.  A Federal Register notice providing additional detail is expected to be published before the tariffs are effected.

Share this:
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
Melissa M. Proctor
President and CEO
Peggy Chaplin Louie
Senior Attorney
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
You can unsubscribe at anytime. By signing up you agree to our Terms & Conditions, and Privacy Policy.

News & Insights


ITAR Interim Final Rule on Encryption Became Effective on March 25th

On March 25, 2020, the following Directorate of Defense Trade Controls’ (DDTC’s) Interim Final Rule, commonly referred to as the “Encryption Rule” took effect. See 84 Federal Register 70887 (International Traffic in Arms Regulations: Creation of Definition of Activities That